Life of the Buddha

In the temples of the Buddhist Society for Compassionate Wisdom, the following gatha is recited after lunch:

Buddha was born in the Lumbini Garden,

He attained Enlightenment at Bodh Ghaya,

He set in motion the wheel of Dharma at Sarnath,

He entered Parinirvana at Kusinara.

I am reminded of this gatha as I begin my formal study of the Buddha’s life (our first year, first term assignment in the Maitreya Seminary).  These four events – the Buddha’s birth, his Enlightenment, his setting in motion the wheel of Dharma, and his Parinirvana – shape and inspire my practice.  But they are also four events in a life filled with many more, which includes both moments of complete liberation and human frailty.

We are encouraged to focus our study on some particular aspect of the Buddha’s life, as well as read about his life in general.  I am inclined to investigate either the period between his decision to teach and the first sermon or his decision to create the order of nuns.  Both events speak to me at this moment.  May my initial study and suggestions from teachers, friends, and readers guide the way forward.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s